Surfers, MX riders team up for Surfercross

Chris Ganz

Surfing and motocross combined for the 14th annual Surfercross event July 26-27.

Pro surfers joined up with pro motocross riders for two days of racing, surfing and story telling at the 14th annual Surfercross event last week at Starwest MX Park and the shores of San Onofre, Calif.

With a year's worth of bragging rights on the line, the event started July 26 at the Lucas Oil MX Park at Starwest Raceway in Perris, Calif., and a day later moved to the beaches of San Onofre for some surfing.

On the moto side riders such as Jeff Emig, Josh Grant, Ronnie Faisst, Nate Adams, Derek Garland, Matt Buyten and Dave Castillo competed while on the surfing side Sunny Garcia, Mike Parsons, Nathan Fletcher, Brandon Lillard, Scott Farnsworth and others competed in the two-day event.

For the pro class the top three spots went to the team of Dakota Tedder and Mark Gabriel in first place, Riley Harper and Chad Robbins in second and Ricky Yorks and Derek Garland in third. First place in the industry class was the team of John Eric Burleson and Jonathan Murphy, second place was Curt Beigel and Jeff Northrop and third was the team of Terry Beal and Johnny Campbell.

The event was filled with good times, stories and tons of trash talking thanks to announcer Dan McGranahan who made sure we all knew Faisst's booties were equivalent to a moto guy showing up to the track with football pads on for a chest protector.

All jokes aside, though, it was all in good fun and everyone had a good time stepping out of his or her respective sport. Surfercross is an event that former motocross racer and current Joe Gibbs Racing MX team manager Jeremy Albrecht started 14 years ago -- with no intentions of it lasting this long -- to bring surfers and motocross riders together for a couple of days of fun.

A fundraiser for the Cookies For Kids Cancer charity raised $500 that was matched by Surfercross event organizers for a total of $1,000.

The event was made possible by sponsors Wahoos, Oakley, Fox, DC Shoes, FMF, Skull Candy, Pirelli, Kawasaki, Rockform, Asterisk and N Style.

Related Content